Oatmeal Cookies

This must be food week.

This is the second day in a row I felt a need to take a picture of something I made.

I hereby dedicate this week to food.

oatmeal cookie

oatmeal cookie

 

 

Ok, I did it again.

Yes I cooked. Well kinda.

I baked.

 Cooking feeds the body while baking nourishes the soul.

This type of psychology is why I will never loose even one pound.

I do ease my conscious by making it so it doesn’t totally clog the intestines.

Yum, that sounds food-ishly delicious. 

But seriously, there are little things you can tweak on a recipe that won’t do too much damage. I never buy white flour; I only buy whole-wheat pastry flour. Let me stress the pastry part because it is not as dense and heavy as whole wheat. I do not buy white sugar. I only buy crystallized brown sugar, it takes a little longer to dissolve in tea but the wait is worth not ingesting white poison. (Hey, that was harsh) Brown sugar has trace minerals from the cane. I never use margarine, as it is partially hydrogenated oil, Yuk. Smart butter or organic butter is best.

Here’s a healthier version of an oatmeal cookie.

 

  • 1c (2 sticks) butter, softened
  • 1-1/4c brown sugar-not the white kind with caramel coloring added to it
  • 2 eggs-free range, no antibiotic
  • 1-teaspoon vanilla
  • 1-1/2 c ww pastry flour
  • 1-teaspoon baking soda
  • 1-teaspoon cinnamon
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 3 c old fashion oats-the kind that takes 5 min to cook but don’t cook
  • 1 c organic raisins

 

Heat oven to 350 degrees              bake about 13-16 min (golden brown)

Beat together butter and sugar until creamy.

Add eggs and vanilla; beat well

Add combined flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt; mix well

Stir in oats and raisins; mix well.

Drop by rounded tablespoonfuls onto ungreased cookie sheet.

I replaced about ¼ c oatmeal with flax meal to increase the fiber, lignans (antioxidants) and omega-3.

yummy whole grain oatmeal cookie

yummy whole grain oatmeal cookie

Would love to hear your thoughts connected to this post.

