Nutritional Benefits of Moringa Tree.

So why all this interest in Moringa?

 

Peppermint tea with Moringa pod laying nearby.

Peppermint tea with Moringa pod laying nearby.

Lemongrass at my house.

Lemongrass at my house.

I have been hearing about this Moringa for about two years now. A friend of mine grows it and makes lots of products from it. But until the last month or two I really didn’t pay it any mind.

I have been around natural herbs since I was 19 years old. I learned about them on my own, definitely not from any family member. Well I shouldn’t be so definite about that last sentence because my mother did teach me about toothpaste on bug bites and she swears by a bar of soap put near your feet in bed to take ailments out of your body. Can I just add too that my mother usually never swears.

In all those thirty-four years of actively studying herbs you would think I’d be an herb expert but the world is very large and the minute you think you know your stuff about twenty miracle cures pop up. Seriously. It happens so much that when someone says to me, “you need to try this, it will save your life”, my usual response is, “Really!, that’s nice.” As I look for another conversation to connect with. This sounds very rude as I am writing it. Very hoity toity.  But I can’t help it. I did the whole Nature Sunshine thing where lots of people that sold for them use a pendulum to see what herbs you need and how many. My girl that signed me up for NS, Nancy, got a percentage of everything I sold. A check would be issued from the company to her for all my sales. People would leave these sessions, lead by Nancy, needing 25 pills of different stuff and they would be told to do them two to three times a day. That, for some, was 75 pills a day. I was part of all that. I believed in all that…then.

Pau D’Arco, green algae, bottled aloe vera and much more were pushed at high prices. And while I do believe that these nature remedies are beneficial, it is the marketing of them that turns me off.

Now it’s turmeric, milk thistle, guyabano or sour sop (which I actually love).

I believe in eating whole food, food grown without harsh chemicals in nutrient rich soil. I will pay extra for that. Not supplements. I am not a whole foods only purist. I do keep a few things in my cabinet for rainy days, days when my body needs an extra boost. I take Kelp to hopefully pull some of the heavy metals from my body due to the toxic world we live in, and I like flax seed oil just to keep me oiled up, so to say, in my wise sage years. A little acidophilus to counter all the years I was on constant antibiotics as a kid, first for asthma and then for slight acne. Those are my little boost up, so to say.

So why am I writing my second post in a week about Moringa?

It was brought to my house by a friend on one of our juice Meetups I do monthly. She had been to FGCU (Florida Gulf Coast University) food forest weekly Friday tours and picked some of the leaves off one of their many Moringa Trees planted by the students and teachers for their permaculture food forest. She told us about all the goodness of this plant and left me a good amount of leaves. She had went to so much trouble to gather, clean and carry them to my home that I didn’t have heart to compost all the leaves that were left behind so I broke them free of the stems, set them in a large bowl on my kitchen table with lots of air flow and sunshine and they dried out very nicely, leaving lots of green color with them.

This led me to started making tea, lots of tea. Every time anyone comes over they have a pot of Moringa, homegrown lemongrass and peppermint tea combination that I think taste yummy. No need for sugar due to the mild flavor that is created.

The nutritional components found in this product are overwhelming. It contains high amounts of vitamins, minerals, fiber, and protein. Of course you don’t get fiber or protein with the tea but you do get the vitamins and minerals. The leaves can be added to your food the same way you add parsley or basil. Moringa Oleifera is used throughout the world as a food (leaves eaten whole) due to high nutrition content. It insures pregnant women and children will not be undernourished.

The Moringa tea is reported to be anti-inflamatory according to a study I read in GreenMedInfo. Look at this page for lots more scientific facts about moringa.

I will end this post with the quotes from a website I found by a Dr Julian Hakim, MD. It a supplement site and as previously said, I am always a bit leary on these but there are some good things to note.

The Moringa plant provides a rich and rare combination of zeatin, quercetin, β- sitosterol, caffeoylquinic acid and kaempferol. In addition to its compelling water purifying powers and high nutritional value, M. oleifera is very important for its medicinal value.

Various parts of this plant such as the leaves, roots, seed, bark, fruit, flowers and immature pods act as cardiac and circulatory stimulants, possess antitumor, antipyretic, anti epileptic, anti inflammatory  anti ulcer  antispasmodic, diuretic, antihypertensive, cholesterol lowering, antioxidant, antidiabetic, hepatoprotective, antibacterial and antifungal activities, and are being employed for the treatment of different ailments in the indigenous system of medicine, particularly in South Asia.

Moringa Oleifera is one of those products that has been used in many different ways to treat conditions such as anemia, arthritis, asthma, cancer, constipation, diabetes, epilepsy, heart conditions, hypertension, kidney stones, thyroid disorders, and infections.

  • Among its numerous medicinal uses are:

  • Antibacterial and antifungal activities

  • Antihypertensive, diuretic and cholesterol lowering activities

  • Antispasmodic, antiulcer and hepatoprotective activities

  • Antitumor and anticancer activities

It has water purifying properties.

He also notes this on his site.

According to an analysis of 100 grams of the edible portion of Moringa oleifera the various parts of this plant have been shown to contain as much of the following water-soluble vitamins: 2.6mg of vitamin B1 (thiamine), 20.5mg of vitamin B2 (riboflavin), 8.2mg of vitamin B3 (nicotinic acid), and 220mg of vitamin C (ascorbic acid). In addition, this same portion of edible product contains as much of the following fat-soluble vitamins: 16.3mg of vitamin A, 113mg of vitamin E (alpha-tocopherol acetate); as much as 423mg of the lipotropic element, Choline; 19.2 grams of fiber; and several key minerals: 2003mg of Calcium, 368mg of Magnesium, 204mg of Phosphorus, 1324mg of Potassium, 3.1mg of Copper, 28.2mg of Iron, and 870mg of Selenium.

In other words, it contains 3 times more iron than spinach, more calcium than 6 cups of milk, 4 times the potassium in a banana, 7 times the vitamin C in an orange and more protein than yogurt.

Would love to hear your thoughts connected to this post.

