Jammie dancing

jammies

I wrote this after reading a post from a woman who was inspired by a 90 yr old woman. It listed 20 things she advised to live a happy life. I just couldn’t wrap my head around the suggestion of put your makeup on and dress nice every morning when you wake up even if you have no where to go. I have spent the last eight years not having to work anywhere for what one would call a real job. I have many projects, some make me money and some don’t. I love dressing up in fun clothing, sometimes conventional, sometimes pretty wild. I also love staying in my jammie’s all day.

I am very happy with my life and feel really good about myself. I take offense at people thinking they have to be “presentable” to others to feel good about themselves. What does that even mean? Men go every day not wearing makeup. I love a man’s face and I love a woman’s face. I love when people decorate their faces, it is fun and often beautiful. I just don’t see it as a day to day neccesity.  I also don’t think it should be on a list of what women should do to be happy. I would of loved it if it had been on her personal list of what made her happy but not as a recommendation to all woman.

I actually took pause for a moment after reading this list, and like any good person that listens to ones elders wisdom, I pondered this message and thought maybe I have been doing it all wrong. I pondered it for a very short ponder and shook it off and started dancing with my headphones on and watched my reflection dancing in the turned off T.V.

Would love to hear your thoughts connected to this post.

